Jens Harald Quistgaard (1919-2008) was a Danish sculptor and designer who became famous with his work for the American firm Dansk Designs. He worked there as head of Design for more than thirty years from 1954 to the beginning of the eighties. His tableware and kitchenware were produced and sold worldwide and soon became the symbol of Scandinavian modernism.

He grew up in a family of artists and therefore showed an interest for handicraft at an early age. His father Harald Quistgaard taught him Sculpture and he ended up studying drawing and silverwork at the Technical College in Copenhagen. The second world war, during which he became an active resistant, interrupted his studies.

He started making a living using many different means : portraits, ceramics, jewellery, reliefs and more. In 1954, his career really took off. He then designed a cutlery set (Fjord – picture 4) with a stainless steel blade and a wooden handle which had never been done before. The same year he designed the cast iron pan Anker-Line (picture 5) which was awarded a gold medal at the Milan Triennale. And last but not least, Ted Nierenberg an American businessman was travelling around Europe looking for young talent. He discovered the Fjord cutlery set in the Danish Museum of Art and Design. He was so impressed that he managed to convince Quistgaard to work with him in the United States. They founded Dansk Designs with Jens Quistgaard as chief designer. A year later the Kobenstyle series of colourful enameled kitchen ustensils (picture 3) was born.

Jens Quistgaard was extremely productive between the end of the fifties and the second half of the sixties : he then designed more than 4000 objects which combine utility and beauty both in the kitchen and on the table. Amongst them the cutlery set Toke (1958) , the Flamestone kitchen pans in stone (1958), his delightful Rare Woods collection of objects (picture 1) from 1961 or the  Odin set in 1962 (picture 2)…

He also designed his partner’s villa, north of New York, down to the last detail at the end of the 1950s (bottom pictures).

At the time Dansk Designs had shops in Copenhagen, London and Stockholm and its products were sold & exhibited around the world (Tokyo, Berlin, Paris, Melbourne, Johannesburg…)

Jens Quistgaard left Dansk Designs at the beginning of the eighties to live in Rome where he stayed until 1993. He then moved back to Denmark where he kept on designing until he passed away in 2008.

 

You will be able to find all the pictures shown and their references on Pinterest here.

 

#dansk, #jensquistgaard

Rare woods 1961

Tjorn

Anker Line cooking pot

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Updating…
  • No products in the cart.
DELIVERIES WILL BE SUSPENDED UNTIL THE 1st OF AUGUST. The deliveries are suspended but the orders will be processed as soon as we come back. Thank you for your patience and understanding. Have a lovely summer!
+ +

Jens Harald Quistgaard (1919-2008) est un sculpteur et designer danois rendu célèbre par son travail au service de la maison d’édition américaine Dansk Designs. Il arrive à la tête de la création de l’entreprise en 1954 et y restera pendant plus de 30 ans. Ses créations en art de la table et vaisselle font fureur à l’époque et sont très largement diffusées aux Etats Unis, en Europe et même jusqu’au Japon. Elles deviennent le symbole international du modernisme scandinave.

Dans un environnement familial artistique il se découvre très jeune une sensibilité pour l’artisanat. Son père Harald Quistgaard le forme à la sculpture. Plus tard il étudiera l’orfèvrerie et le dessin à l’école technique de Copenhague. La deuxième guerre mondiale interrompt sa formation, il participera alors activement à la Résistance.

Il commence à gagner sa vie en jouant sur la diversité de ses talents : bijoux, coutellerie, portraits, reliefs, céramique… Vers 1953-1954 sa carrière prend son envol. En effet, il reçoiten 1954 une médaille d’or à la Triennale de Milan pour sa cocotte en fonte Anker-Line (photo 5). De plus il dessine à cette époque un service de couverts (Fjord, photo 4) qui mêle acier inoxydable et manche en bois du jamais vu encore. L’homme d’affaire américain Ted Nierenberg, alors en tournée en Europe à la recherche de jeunes talents,  découvre cette ménagère au musée danois de l’art et du design. Il est est époustouflé et parvient à convaincre Jens Quistgaard de s’associer à lui. Les deux hommes fondent Dansk Designs. L’année suivante, la collection colorée d’ustensiles de cuisine en tôle émaillée Kobenstyle (photo 3) fait son apparition.

Jens Quistgaard produit énormément de la fin des années 50 jusqu’à la moitié des années 60 puisqu’il va dessiner plus de 4000 objets qui allient l’utile et le beau en cuisine et sur la table. On citera la ménagère Toke en acier et bambou (1958) , les éléments de vaisselle Flamestone en pierre (1958), sa collection d’objets en bois Rare Woods (photo 1) à partir de 1961 ou le service Odin en 1962 (photo 2).

Jens Quistgaard se fait aussi l’architecte de la villa de son associé au nord de New York à la fin des années 50 (dernières photos).

Dansk Designs ouvre des magasins à Copenhague, Londres et Stockholm mais ses produits sont exposés et vendus partout dans le monde (Tokyo, Berlin, Paris, Melbourne, Johannesburg…) Jens Quistgaard  quitte Dansk Designs au début des années 80 pour s’installer à Rome où il restera jusqu’en 1993. Il retourne finalement au Danemark où il continue de dessiner jusqu’à sa disparition en 2008.

 

 

Un petit tableau Pinterest où vous trouverez toutes les photos de l’article et leurs références.

 

#dansk, #jensquistgaard

Rare woods 1961

Tjorn

Anker Line cooking pot

2 répond à “Jens H. Quistgaard (1919-2008)

  1. Bonjour,

    j’aimerais me procurer les bougeoirs modulables de J. H. Quistgaard. Pouvez-vous me donner une piste? je vous en remercie à l’avance.

    Cordialement,

    D. R-N.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Mise à jour en cours…
  • Votre panier est vide.